“Into Thin Air”- From a Reader Response View

I chose to read Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer for my ISU unit. This blog post is about the first third of the book. I will be examining this portion of the book from a reader response literary theory.

This novel is about Jon and his teammates horrifying expedition while climbing Mount Everest in 1996. I know a family that has climbed Mount Everest which helps me understand parts of this book a bit better as I have seen photos of what the camps look like and have an understanding of how hard it is to successfully summit this mountain. This helped me make text to world connections while reading this novel. It helped me get a better grasp of the content and allowed me to visually picture in my mind what was happening in this non-fiction novel.

The movie Everest is based off this novel and is about the same group of people. This also added to my understanding of this novel and once again helped me grasp the informational to a higher degree.

“A couple of miles farther, the glacier made a sharp turn to the east, we plodded to the crest of a long slope, and spread before us was a motley city of nylon domes. More than three hundred tents, housing as many climbers and Sherpas from fourteen expeditions, speckled the boulder strewn ice. It took us twenty minutes to locate our compound among the sprawling settlement. As we climbed the final rise, Rob strode down to greet us. ‘Welcome to Everest base Camp…'” (Krakauer 59). This is an important part of the novel as it is the start of the crazy and scary adventure Rob Hall’s expedition is about to start. It is also the point where Jon Krakauer is finally about to start to reach his childhood dreams to summit Mount Everest. Due to having seen the movie Everest as well as see other photos, I was able to easily picture in my mind what base camp looked like.

 

Works Cited:

Krakauer, Jon. Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mount Everest Disaster. New York: Villard, 1997. Print.

Sources:

bookgroupssal.wikispaces.com

 

Leave a Reply

